How I Knew E.E. Cummings

It was Cameron Diaz, the actress who plays on “In Her Shoes” movie. I watched her reading E.E. Cumming’s “I Carry Your Heart With Me” and I was moved.

Back then when I studied in CESL, Tucson, my teacher, Kathleen, asked us to recite the poem in class. We had to memorize it. Kathleen gave us freedom to choose any poem we like to read. And spontaneously, I chose that poem: I Carry Your Heart With Me.

I got the very last turn. I still remember how it felt like. I still remember how my hearts thumped while reciting. I still remember the line that I almost forgot but lastly, I did it. Almost perfect.

When I went back to my seat, my Nicaraguan friend, Maria, told me that I read it very clearly and smoothly. I was happy. After that, Kathleen gave me high five, too! Steve, the other teacher who witnessed all the recitation said that I make ‘something good’ in class.

Thankyou E.E. Cummings!

Sunshine
*another sleepless night*

Leave a Reply

